Tighe Takes Win with Fast Pass

With the rain staying away, the second round of the 2019 Mt Cotton Hillclimb Series saw some serious speed and competitors taking to the hill.

The Formula Libre – 1301cc & over class is where the top four placing’s for the weekend came from. The return of Dean Tighe to the series saw him take his Dallara-Judd 4.0 under the 40-seconds on his second run.

Tighe didn’t finish his first pass and decided to skip the second run and came out pushing hard on the third official run and achieved a 38.22 second pass. This time on Saturday was not to be his winning time as his second run on Sunday saw Tighe drop to a 38.04 second run which proved to be the winning number for the weekend.

Having also missed the first round of the year, Michael Von Rappard took to the hill like a duck to water. Only racing on Saturday, Von Rappard set his quickest time of 40.02, 1.98 seconds behind Tighe, on the final run of the day. This was enough to secure him a second place for the weekend.

It was a very close battle for third between last rounds winner Warwick Hutchison and Edward McCane. Both having some minor issues throughout the weekend, Hutchinson posted a 40.39 second pass on the final run on Saturday.

McCane would start Sunday strong and post a fast time of 40.38 seconds which was just enough for him to hold on to third for the weekend with Hutchison taking fourth.

Fifth place for the round was James Milliner in his OMS 2000M (40.73) with David Quelch taking sixth with 41.59 in his Honda DPQ Special.

In other classes there were some close times between drivers. The Modified Production Sedan Cars – 2001cc & over class saw two drivers fight to the finish. The Datsun 120Y of Brendan Merrick set a 50.34 on his first run on Saturday. This was to be his quickest time for the weekend.

On his tale, on Saturday only, was Michael Mooney in his Toyota AE86 Levin. On his second of only three runs, Mooney went just 0.04 seconds slower with a time of 50.38.

Records were broken in two classes over the weekend with Greg Tebble in Group R driving his Van Diemen FF2000 to a time of 42.06 which was 0.61 seconds faster than the previous record.

The second record to be broken was in the Group Q – Sports class. Record holder Geoffrey Cohen beat his own time of 47.44 with a 47.25.

The next major event at Mt Cotton is the Queensland Hillclimb Championships on 31 May to 2 June. Round 3 of the Hillclimb series is on June 22 and 23.

This post was written by Car and Bike News


Leave your thoughts